Juvenihil

Being a teen sucks, #7

with one comment

#7: We can’t vote.

Technically 18 and 19 are teens, too, but right now I feel as though the country is separated into two spheres: those who can vote and those who can’t.

I mean, come on– I’m a citizen and I’ve never committed a felony. I’ve read and watched the debates, suffered through the monotonous conventions, and I even buy the New York Times because as much as I love the Chronicle, it doesn’t really have any news in it. I know not to trust the polls too much, because most of them are completely NOT random samples, and I know that as much as I root for Obama, he is really, really centrist.

Most of my classmates– the ones in the APs, at least– also know what I know. Some say that the VAP/VEP turnouts are not declining as the media claims, but the fact remains that the US has never had strong voter participation. I wish I could take some apathetic non-voter’s spot.

p.s. please, no more Joe the Plumber.

Written by jane

October 29, 2008 at 6:09 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well this one worked out for you anyway, no? WOW what an election. I was exhausted for 3 days afterward and I didn’t do anything but vote. The poll site I was watching was pretty accurate — and they have a short blog on polling methods and election-relevant material — it’s been up for a couple of elections so it will probably be up next time too. Although I don’t imagine any of us will see another election like this one in our lifetimes. But here is the site:

    http://www.electoral-vote.com/

    Be well,

    James

    bootslack

    November 10, 2008 at 1:02 AM


Leave a Reply

